-
Smith & Wesson Ships Bodyguard 2.0 With Factory Green-Dot Sight for $599
Factory-equipped Bodyguard 2.0 arrives at $599Smith & Wesson is shipping the .380 Auto Bodyguard 2.0 with a factory-installed Viridian RFX1 green-dot reflex sight. The optic is dovetail-mounted and zeroed, eliminating the need for separate installation or adapter plates. The package has a $599 MSRP and is offered in three configurations: a model with a thumb safety, a no-thumb-safety version, and a compliant model limited to 10-round magazines. Availability remains subject to federal, state, and local laws. For comparison, the standard Bodyguard 2.0 NTS has a $449 MSRP, while the separately sold RFX1 for the pistol is priced at $229. Carry dimensions and configurationsThe striker-fired Bodyguard 2.0 measures 5.5 inches long, 0.88 inch wide, and 4.8 inches high, with a listed weight of 12 ounces. Its stainless steel barrel is 2.75 inches long with a 1:10-inch twist and an Armornite finish. The stainless steel slide also uses an Armornite finish, while the frame and grip are polymer. Standard-capacity versions support 10- and 12-round magazines and ship with one of each. The compliant configuration is restricted to 10 rounds. The no-thumb-safety model is identified as SKU 14786 and lists Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, and Vermont under state compliance. Other controls include a flat-face trigger, an 18-degree grip angle, and a reversible ambidextrous magazine release. The pistol does not have a threaded barrel or integrated laser. Viridian RFX1 opticThe RFX1 uses a 3 MOA green dot and a 16-by-15 mm objective lens. It provides unlimited eye relief, automatic brightness adjustment, and Viridian’s INSTANT-ON activation system. Power comes from a CR1632 battery, with a listed battery life of up to 30,000 hours. The optic measures 1.63 inches long, 0.81 inch wide, and 1.02 inches high. Its housing is machined from 6061 aluminum, and it carries an IPX4 water-resistance rating. The design is also described as shockproof. Viridian developed this version of the RFX1 around the Bodyguard 2.0’s slide geometry. It incorporates slide serrations and a tapered dovetail intended to limit lateral movement while keeping the optic aligned with the pistol’s narrow profile. Sights, handling and intended useThe factory-mounted optic provides an alternative to relying solely on the micro pistol’s iron sights, particularly for shooters seeking a clearer aiming reference. Its automatic brightness system adjusts dot visibility for changing ambient light without manual controls. The package retains the Bodyguard 2.0’s compact dimensions and 12-ounce listed weight while adding the green-dot system at the factory. Smith & Wesson positions the three versions to address differing preferences on manual safeties and magazine-capacity restrictions. Included equipment and serviceEach standard-capacity pistol ships with one 10-round magazine, one 12-round magazine, and tools for the optic. The compliant model’s magazine package is not detailed beyond its 10-round capacity restriction. The Bodyguard 2.0 series is covered by Smith & Wesson’s lifetime service policy.
-
[Discussion] Smith & Wesson Ships Bodyguard 2.0 With Factory Green-Dot Sight for $599
Factory-equipped Bodyguard 2.0 arrives at $599Smith & Wesson is shipping the .380 Auto Bodyguard 2.0 with a factory-installed Viridian RFX1 green-dot reflex sight. The optic is dovetail-mounted and zeroed, eliminating the need for separate installation or adapter plates. The package has a $599 MSRP and is offered in three configurations: a model with a thumb safety, a no-thumb-safety version, and a compliant model limited to 10-round magazines. Availability remains subject to federal, state, and local laws. For comparison, the standard Bodyguard 2.0 NTS has a $449 MSRP, while the separately sold RFX1 for the pistol is priced at $229. Carry dimensions and configurationsThe striker-fired Bodyguard 2.0 measures 5.5 inches long, 0.88 inch wide, and 4.8 inches high, with a listed weight of 12 ounces. Its stainless steel barrel is 2.75 inches long with a 1:10-inch twist and an Armornite finish. The stainless steel slide also uses an Armornite finish, while the frame and grip are polymer. Standard-capacity versions support 10- and 12-round magazines and ship with one of each. The compliant configuration is restricted to 10 rounds. The no-thumb-safety model is identified as SKU 14786 and lists Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, and Vermont under state compliance. Other controls include a flat-face trigger, an 18-degree grip angle, and a reversible ambidextrous magazine release. The pistol does not have a threaded barrel or integrated laser. Viridian RFX1 opticThe RFX1 uses a 3 MOA green dot and a 16-by-15 mm objective lens. It provides unlimited eye relief, automatic brightness adjustment, and Viridian’s INSTANT-ON activation system. Power comes from a CR1632 battery, with a listed battery life of up to 30,000 hours. The optic measures 1.63 inches long, 0.81 inch wide, and 1.02 inches high. Its housing is machined from 6061 aluminum, and it carries an IPX4 water-resistance rating. The design is also described as shockproof. Viridian developed this version of the RFX1 around the Bodyguard 2.0’s slide geometry. It incorporates slide serrations and a tapered dovetail intended to limit lateral movement while keeping the optic aligned with the pistol’s narrow profile. Sights, handling and intended useThe factory-mounted optic provides an alternative to relying solely on the micro pistol’s iron sights, particularly for shooters seeking a clearer aiming reference. Its automatic brightness system adjusts dot visibility for changing ambient light without manual controls. The package retains the Bodyguard 2.0’s compact dimensions and 12-ounce listed weight while adding the green-dot system at the factory. Smith & Wesson positions the three versions to address differing preferences on manual safeties and magazine-capacity restrictions. Included equipment and serviceEach standard-capacity pistol ships with one 10-round magazine, one 12-round magazine, and tools for the optic. The compliant model’s magazine package is not detailed beyond its 10-round capacity restriction. The Bodyguard 2.0 series is covered by Smith & Wesson’s lifetime service policy. View full article
-
-
GA-ASI Unveils Lower-Cost Wildfire Drone as MQ-9 Reaper Alternative
GA-ASI Unveils Wildfire Uncrewed AircraftGeneral Atomics Aeronautical Systems Inc. (GA-ASI) unveiled Wildfire, a medium-altitude, long-endurance uncrewed aircraft intended for military, civil, and commercial missions. The company described the clean-sheet design as a lower-cost, attrition-tolerant platform that can be produced and deployed in greater numbers than its existing large UAS. Wildfire is focused primarily on intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance, strike and related missions. GA-ASI said the aircraft also could support non-combat applications, including heavy cargo delivery, using its payload capacity and reinforced hardpoints. Air Force Competition and Delivery TimelineGA-ASI has proposed Wildfire for the U.S. Air Force’s Massed Modular Aircraft competition, managed through the Defense Innovation Unit. The program is seeking an alternative to the MQ-9A Reaper. According to GA-ASI, Wildfire meets or exceeds the competition’s stated requirements and could be delivered several years before the fiscal 2031 timeline identified by DIU. The company also said its existing production facilities and supplier network would allow it to manufacture more than twice as many aircraft within the same period. The release did not provide unit cost figures, production quantities or a date for an initial flight. Range, Payload and Mission SystemsGA-ASI lists Wildfire with a ferry range exceeding 8,000 nautical miles. The aircraft is designed to carry two Long-Range Anti-Ship Missiles simultaneously over what the company described as operationally meaningful distances. Another disclosed configuration carries four Joint Strike Missiles. Other payload options include munitions, launched effects, sensors and mission-specific equipment. The aircraft will incorporate multispectral targeting sensors and is designed to accommodate long-range precision-strike weapons. Detailed information on endurance, payload weight, dimensions, speed and propulsion was not included in the announcement. GA-ASI positioned Wildfire in the same general medium-altitude, long-endurance class as the MQ-9A, while stating that the new aircraft will offer greater payload capacity and range at a lower cost. Autonomy and Collaborative OperationsWildfire will use mission-autonomy technology derived from GA-ASI’s FQ-42A Collaborative Combat Aircraft work. Rather than relying on a conventional ground control station, human personnel are expected to operate the aircraft through U.S. government-provided autonomy software. The intended control architecture is designed to let individual operators manage multiple aircraft and support networked operation of dozens of Wildfires. GA-ASI said the platform will also employ proliferated low-Earth-orbit satellite communications technology already demonstrated aboard other company aircraft. Design and Intended RoleThe aircraft combines selected features from GA-ASI’s existing UAS with lower-cost components and a modular architecture. The company said it deliberately limited the platform to a narrower group of missions than the MQ-9B, which is configured for roles including anti-submarine warfare, counter-UAS operations and airborne early warning. GA-ASI President David R. Alexander characterized Wildfire as a high-volume aircraft intended to perform a smaller number of core missions. For defense users, the design is meant to permit deployment in kinetic environments where commanders may accept greater risk to individual aircraft. GA-ASI said the design draws on experience from more than 1,600 uncrewed aircraft delivered across the Predator, Reaper, SkyGuardian, Avenger, and Collaborative Combat Aircraft families.
-
[Discussion] GA-ASI Unveils Lower-Cost Wildfire Drone as MQ-9 Reaper Alternative
GA-ASI Unveils Wildfire Uncrewed AircraftGeneral Atomics Aeronautical Systems Inc. (GA-ASI) unveiled Wildfire, a medium-altitude, long-endurance uncrewed aircraft intended for military, civil, and commercial missions. The company described the clean-sheet design as a lower-cost, attrition-tolerant platform that can be produced and deployed in greater numbers than its existing large UAS. Wildfire is focused primarily on intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance, strike and related missions. GA-ASI said the aircraft also could support non-combat applications, including heavy cargo delivery, using its payload capacity and reinforced hardpoints. Air Force Competition and Delivery TimelineGA-ASI has proposed Wildfire for the U.S. Air Force’s Massed Modular Aircraft competition, managed through the Defense Innovation Unit. The program is seeking an alternative to the MQ-9A Reaper. According to GA-ASI, Wildfire meets or exceeds the competition’s stated requirements and could be delivered several years before the fiscal 2031 timeline identified by DIU. The company also said its existing production facilities and supplier network would allow it to manufacture more than twice as many aircraft within the same period. The release did not provide unit cost figures, production quantities or a date for an initial flight. Range, Payload and Mission SystemsGA-ASI lists Wildfire with a ferry range exceeding 8,000 nautical miles. The aircraft is designed to carry two Long-Range Anti-Ship Missiles simultaneously over what the company described as operationally meaningful distances. Another disclosed configuration carries four Joint Strike Missiles. Other payload options include munitions, launched effects, sensors and mission-specific equipment. The aircraft will incorporate multispectral targeting sensors and is designed to accommodate long-range precision-strike weapons. Detailed information on endurance, payload weight, dimensions, speed and propulsion was not included in the announcement. GA-ASI positioned Wildfire in the same general medium-altitude, long-endurance class as the MQ-9A, while stating that the new aircraft will offer greater payload capacity and range at a lower cost. Autonomy and Collaborative OperationsWildfire will use mission-autonomy technology derived from GA-ASI’s FQ-42A Collaborative Combat Aircraft work. Rather than relying on a conventional ground control station, human personnel are expected to operate the aircraft through U.S. government-provided autonomy software. The intended control architecture is designed to let individual operators manage multiple aircraft and support networked operation of dozens of Wildfires. GA-ASI said the platform will also employ proliferated low-Earth-orbit satellite communications technology already demonstrated aboard other company aircraft. Design and Intended RoleThe aircraft combines selected features from GA-ASI’s existing UAS with lower-cost components and a modular architecture. The company said it deliberately limited the platform to a narrower group of missions than the MQ-9B, which is configured for roles including anti-submarine warfare, counter-UAS operations and airborne early warning. GA-ASI President David R. Alexander characterized Wildfire as a high-volume aircraft intended to perform a smaller number of core missions. For defense users, the design is meant to permit deployment in kinetic environments where commanders may accept greater risk to individual aircraft. GA-ASI said the design draws on experience from more than 1,600 uncrewed aircraft delivered across the Predator, Reaper, SkyGuardian, Avenger, and Collaborative Combat Aircraft families. View full article
-
Shield Arms Launches 20-Round S20 Magazine for Glock 43X and 48
Availability and PriceShield Arms has released the S20, a 20-round 9mm magazine for Glock 43X and Glock 48 Slimline pistols. It is available now at a price of $44.99. The S20 is intended primarily as a higher-capacity spare magazine. Its steel body extends below the pistol’s grip and is not flush-fitting like the company’s 15-round S15 magazine. No baseplate extension is required to reach the stated 20-round capacity. Design and CapacityThe S20 uses the same patented staggered-feed geometry as the S15 but lengthens the magazine body to accommodate five additional cartridges. Unlike an S15 fitted with a separate +5 aluminum extension, the S20 uses a continuous, one-piece steel body. Integrated over-insertion tabs are stamped into the magazine body. These tabs are designed to prevent the magazine from being seated too deeply during rapid or forceful reloads, helping maintain feed-lip alignment. The magazine is formed from steel and treated with a black QPQ nitrocarburizing finish for hardness, wear resistance, and corrosion protection. Shield Arms says it is manufactured in the United States to the same standards as the S-Series lineup. Compatibility RequirementsThe S20 is compatible only with 9mm Glock 43X and Glock 48 pistols. It does not fit the Glock 43 or Glock 42, which use shorter frames, and it is not designed for full-size or compact double-stack Glock models. Use requires a Shield Arms S-Series steel magazine catch. The S20 is not compatible with the factory polymer magazine catch. Shield Arms also advises against using its steel catch with Glock’s factory plastic magazines, recommending steel magazines with steel catches and plastic magazines with plastic catches. Owners using a first-generation Shield Arms aluminum magazine catch should confirm compatibility before installing the S20. Pistols already configured with the required steel catch need no gunsmithing or fitting to use the new magazine. Intended RoleBecause the S20 protrudes below the grip, Shield Arms positions it as a backup, range, competition, or home-defense magazine rather than a flush-fit concealed-carry option. Existing S15 users can carry the 15-round magazine in the pistol and use the S20 as a higher-capacity spare. The S20 may be particularly relevant to Glock 43X and 48 owners already committed to the Shield Arms magazine system, since switching between the S15 and S20 does not require another magazine-catch change. Glock has also introduced its own 15-round magazines, but the S20 is specifically designed around the Shield Arms steel-catch system. Specifications and SupportThe S20 holds 20 rounds of 9mm ammunition and uses a steel body with a black nitride QPQ finish. Its over-insertion protection is built directly into the body rather than added through a separate component. Shield Arms covers the magazine with a lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. It also includes the company’s “Spring for Life” guarantee, under which a worn magazine spring can be replaced without charge for the life of the product.
-
[Discussion] Shield Arms Launches 20-Round S20 Magazine for Glock 43X and 48
Availability and PriceShield Arms has released the S20, a 20-round 9mm magazine for Glock 43X and Glock 48 Slimline pistols. It is available now at a price of $44.99. The S20 is intended primarily as a higher-capacity spare magazine. Its steel body extends below the pistol’s grip and is not flush-fitting like the company’s 15-round S15 magazine. No baseplate extension is required to reach the stated 20-round capacity. Design and CapacityThe S20 uses the same patented staggered-feed geometry as the S15 but lengthens the magazine body to accommodate five additional cartridges. Unlike an S15 fitted with a separate +5 aluminum extension, the S20 uses a continuous, one-piece steel body. Integrated over-insertion tabs are stamped into the magazine body. These tabs are designed to prevent the magazine from being seated too deeply during rapid or forceful reloads, helping maintain feed-lip alignment. The magazine is formed from steel and treated with a black QPQ nitrocarburizing finish for hardness, wear resistance, and corrosion protection. Shield Arms says it is manufactured in the United States to the same standards as the S-Series lineup. Compatibility RequirementsThe S20 is compatible only with 9mm Glock 43X and Glock 48 pistols. It does not fit the Glock 43 or Glock 42, which use shorter frames, and it is not designed for full-size or compact double-stack Glock models. Use requires a Shield Arms S-Series steel magazine catch. The S20 is not compatible with the factory polymer magazine catch. Shield Arms also advises against using its steel catch with Glock’s factory plastic magazines, recommending steel magazines with steel catches and plastic magazines with plastic catches. Owners using a first-generation Shield Arms aluminum magazine catch should confirm compatibility before installing the S20. Pistols already configured with the required steel catch need no gunsmithing or fitting to use the new magazine. Intended RoleBecause the S20 protrudes below the grip, Shield Arms positions it as a backup, range, competition, or home-defense magazine rather than a flush-fit concealed-carry option. Existing S15 users can carry the 15-round magazine in the pistol and use the S20 as a higher-capacity spare. The S20 may be particularly relevant to Glock 43X and 48 owners already committed to the Shield Arms magazine system, since switching between the S15 and S20 does not require another magazine-catch change. Glock has also introduced its own 15-round magazines, but the S20 is specifically designed around the Shield Arms steel-catch system. Specifications and SupportThe S20 holds 20 rounds of 9mm ammunition and uses a steel body with a black nitride QPQ finish. Its over-insertion protection is built directly into the body rather than added through a separate component. Shield Arms covers the magazine with a lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. It also includes the company’s “Spring for Life” guarantee, under which a worn magazine spring can be replaced without charge for the life of the product. View full article
-
US Navy Selects L3Harris VAMPIRE Systems for Littoral Drone Defense
Navy Selects VAMPIRE for Littoral DefenseThe U.S. Navy has selected L3Harris Technologies to deliver VAMPIRE counter-unmanned systems for its integrated C-UxS defense architecture, the company announced Sept. 8, 2026. The system is intended to counter unmanned aerial systems, remotely piloted platforms and potentially other small threats in littoral environments. L3Harris is ruggedizing the Navy configuration against maritime stresses including humidity, salt exposure and vibration. The company has not disclosed the number of systems ordered, contract value, delivery schedule, or exact configuration. “VAMPIRE is a flexible and effective system that meets the unique requirements of the U.S. Navy for littoral C-UxS defense,” said Tony Calderon, president of Targeting & Sensor Systems at L3Harris. Maritime Roles and VariantsVAMPIRE has developed into a family of modular systems combining sensors, precision weapons, electronic jammers and other effectors. Its maritime-focused Black Wake variant is designed for installation on crewed or uncrewed vessels and for lower-cost engagements against small drones and fast attack craft. L3Harris has not confirmed that Black Wake is the version selected by the Navy. The announced system could be deployed as part of a wider detection and command network to protect forces, bases, logistics sites or other infrastructure near the coast. Other VAMPIRE configurations include the land-based Stalker XR, airborne Dead Wing, containerized CASKET, BAT system for base protection, and Killcode electronic-warfare variant. Sensors and System ArchitectureThe baseline VAMPIRE uses a self-contained, palletized design that can be fitted to different vehicles or platforms. According to L3Harris, two personnel can install the system in a vehicle cargo bed in about two hours using standard tools. Its primary sensor is the stabilized WESCAM MX-10D RSTA electro-optical and infrared turret, mounted on a telescopic mast. The sensor supports surveillance, identification, and laser target designation. VAMPIRE also connects to the Widow Mission Management System, which is compliant with the Forward Area Air Defense Command and Control architecture. Widow integrates sensors, effectors, radios, and navigation functions, allowing individual launchers to operate within a broader counter-unmanned network. Weapons and Engagement RangeFor kinetic engagements, VAMPIRE can use the 70 mm AGR-20A Advanced Precision Kill Weapon System laser-guided rocket. A proximity fuze improves its effectiveness against small aerial targets by allowing an engagement without a direct impact. Company documentation lists an engagement range of up to approximately six kilometers for the current configuration. The launcher can also accommodate other laser-guided munitions, depending on the selected configuration, host platform, and target. The system is intended to provide an intermediate defensive layer between electronic warfare, automatic weapons and more expensive surface-to-air missiles. This gives naval forces another option for responding to repeated or numerous unmanned threats without relying exclusively on higher-cost interceptors. Related Orders and Operational UseThe Navy selection follows a separate U.S. Army VAMPIRE order announced in June 2026 and valued at up to $106 million. L3Harris reports that VAMPIRE systems have accumulated more than 350,000 operational hours in Europe since 2023. The company has also introduced Wraith Shield software, which uses radios as sensors to help defeat small drones. L3Harris says the software can be integrated with VAMPIRE and Drone Guardian systems as part of a layered defense against unmanned threats.
-
[Discussion] US Navy Selects L3Harris VAMPIRE Systems for Littoral Drone Defense
Navy Selects VAMPIRE for Littoral DefenseThe U.S. Navy has selected L3Harris Technologies to deliver VAMPIRE counter-unmanned systems for its integrated C-UxS defense architecture, the company announced Sept. 8, 2026. The system is intended to counter unmanned aerial systems, remotely piloted platforms and potentially other small threats in littoral environments. L3Harris is ruggedizing the Navy configuration against maritime stresses including humidity, salt exposure and vibration. The company has not disclosed the number of systems ordered, contract value, delivery schedule, or exact configuration. “VAMPIRE is a flexible and effective system that meets the unique requirements of the U.S. Navy for littoral C-UxS defense,” said Tony Calderon, president of Targeting & Sensor Systems at L3Harris. Maritime Roles and VariantsVAMPIRE has developed into a family of modular systems combining sensors, precision weapons, electronic jammers and other effectors. Its maritime-focused Black Wake variant is designed for installation on crewed or uncrewed vessels and for lower-cost engagements against small drones and fast attack craft. L3Harris has not confirmed that Black Wake is the version selected by the Navy. The announced system could be deployed as part of a wider detection and command network to protect forces, bases, logistics sites or other infrastructure near the coast. Other VAMPIRE configurations include the land-based Stalker XR, airborne Dead Wing, containerized CASKET, BAT system for base protection, and Killcode electronic-warfare variant. Sensors and System ArchitectureThe baseline VAMPIRE uses a self-contained, palletized design that can be fitted to different vehicles or platforms. According to L3Harris, two personnel can install the system in a vehicle cargo bed in about two hours using standard tools. Its primary sensor is the stabilized WESCAM MX-10D RSTA electro-optical and infrared turret, mounted on a telescopic mast. The sensor supports surveillance, identification, and laser target designation. VAMPIRE also connects to the Widow Mission Management System, which is compliant with the Forward Area Air Defense Command and Control architecture. Widow integrates sensors, effectors, radios, and navigation functions, allowing individual launchers to operate within a broader counter-unmanned network. Weapons and Engagement RangeFor kinetic engagements, VAMPIRE can use the 70 mm AGR-20A Advanced Precision Kill Weapon System laser-guided rocket. A proximity fuze improves its effectiveness against small aerial targets by allowing an engagement without a direct impact. Company documentation lists an engagement range of up to approximately six kilometers for the current configuration. The launcher can also accommodate other laser-guided munitions, depending on the selected configuration, host platform, and target. The system is intended to provide an intermediate defensive layer between electronic warfare, automatic weapons and more expensive surface-to-air missiles. This gives naval forces another option for responding to repeated or numerous unmanned threats without relying exclusively on higher-cost interceptors. Related Orders and Operational UseThe Navy selection follows a separate U.S. Army VAMPIRE order announced in June 2026 and valued at up to $106 million. L3Harris reports that VAMPIRE systems have accumulated more than 350,000 operational hours in Europe since 2023. The company has also introduced Wraith Shield software, which uses radios as sensors to help defeat small drones. L3Harris says the software can be integrated with VAMPIRE and Drone Guardian systems as part of a layered defense against unmanned threats. View full article
-
Ukraine Says Russian Troop Losses Surpass 1.5 Million Since 2022
Ukrainian General Staff Reports 1.5 Million Russian Troop LossesRussia has lost an estimated 1,500,870 troops since beginning its full-scale invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 24, 2022, according to a Sept. 9 report from the General Staff of the Armed Forces of Ukraine. The total includes 1,480 Russian casualties recorded over the preceding day. Russia has not officially released comprehensive casualty figures or a casualty list. Equipment LossesThe Ukrainian General Staff also reported that Russia has lost 12,338 tanks and 25,290 armored combat vehicles since the invasion began. Its figures include 146,008 vehicles and fuel tanks, 49,383 artillery systems, 2,105 multiple-launch rocket systems and 1,613 air-defense systems. Reported aviation losses comprise 441 aircraft and 355 helicopters. The General Staff also listed 506,188 aerial drones, 2,534 unmanned ground systems and 5,103 cruise missiles. At sea, Ukraine’s military estimates that Russia has lost 35 ships and boats, along with two submarines. Estimates of Ukrainian CasualtiesA January 2026 report from the Center for Strategic and International Studies estimated that Ukraine likely suffered between 500,000 and 600,000 casualties from February 2022 through December 2025. The report estimated that between 100,000 and 140,000 Ukrainian troops were killed in action during that period. Ukrainian officials rarely disclose military casualty totals. President Volodymyr Zelensky told France TV on Feb. 4 that at least 55,000 Ukrainian soldiers had been killed in action since the start of the full-scale war. He added that many more service members remained missing in action. Difficulties Confirming the TollThe intensity of combat and Russian drone attacks has made it difficult for Ukraine to recover the bodies of fallen soldiers. Recovery is required before DNA testing can be used to confirm identities, complicating efforts to establish a complete count of those killed or missing. The available Russian and Ukrainian figures come from differing official statements and estimates, with Moscow providing no comprehensive public accounting of its losses.
-
[Discussion] Ukraine Says Russian Troop Losses Surpass 1.5 Million Since 2022
Ukrainian General Staff Reports 1.5 Million Russian Troop LossesRussia has lost an estimated 1,500,870 troops since beginning its full-scale invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 24, 2022, according to a Sept. 9 report from the General Staff of the Armed Forces of Ukraine. The total includes 1,480 Russian casualties recorded over the preceding day. Russia has not officially released comprehensive casualty figures or a casualty list. Equipment LossesThe Ukrainian General Staff also reported that Russia has lost 12,338 tanks and 25,290 armored combat vehicles since the invasion began. Its figures include 146,008 vehicles and fuel tanks, 49,383 artillery systems, 2,105 multiple-launch rocket systems and 1,613 air-defense systems. Reported aviation losses comprise 441 aircraft and 355 helicopters. The General Staff also listed 506,188 aerial drones, 2,534 unmanned ground systems and 5,103 cruise missiles. At sea, Ukraine’s military estimates that Russia has lost 35 ships and boats, along with two submarines. Estimates of Ukrainian CasualtiesA January 2026 report from the Center for Strategic and International Studies estimated that Ukraine likely suffered between 500,000 and 600,000 casualties from February 2022 through December 2025. The report estimated that between 100,000 and 140,000 Ukrainian troops were killed in action during that period. Ukrainian officials rarely disclose military casualty totals. President Volodymyr Zelensky told France TV on Feb. 4 that at least 55,000 Ukrainian soldiers had been killed in action since the start of the full-scale war. He added that many more service members remained missing in action. Difficulties Confirming the TollThe intensity of combat and Russian drone attacks has made it difficult for Ukraine to recover the bodies of fallen soldiers. Recovery is required before DNA testing can be used to confirm identities, complicating efforts to establish a complete count of those killed or missing. The available Russian and Ukrainian figures come from differing official statements and estimates, with Moscow providing no comprehensive public accounting of its losses. View full article
-
Ukraine Plans 1,000 Patriot Missiles, Seeks Stockpile Transfers Before Winter
Ukraine Plans Contracts for About 1,000 Patriot MissilesUkraine is preparing contracts for roughly 1,000 Patriot air-defense missiles with partner support and financing from an EU loan, Defense Minister Yevhen Khmara said at the 36th Ukraine Defense Contact Group meeting on Sept. 8, 2026. Khmara cautioned that the contracted missiles will take time to arrive. Ukraine is therefore asking partners to transfer interceptors from existing stockpiles before winter, with those stocks later replenished by upgraded missiles delivered under the Ukrainian contracts. The request follows continued Russian attacks on Ukrainian cities and critical infrastructure. An overnight missile and drone strike on Kyiv on Sept. 8 killed at least five people, injured 29 and caused large fires across the city. Additional Air-Defense RequirementsUkraine is also seeking air-to-air missiles and man-portable air-defense systems to counter cruise missiles and, as an interim measure, jet-powered Shahed attack drones. Khmara said dozens of Ukrainian companies are working on affordable systems that can be produced at scale to intercept jet-powered drones. Some interceptors are already undergoing combat testing, he added. Ukraine presented stronger air defenses, additional drone financing and faster partner decisions before winter as its immediate priorities at the Ramstein-format meeting. EU Loan and Defense FundingThe European Commission is expected to approve the final €28.3 billion ($33 billion) tranche of this year’s defense loans for Ukraine on Sept. 11. The financing package would authorize Ukraine to buy U.S.-made PAC-3 interceptors, which Patriot systems use against ballistic missiles. EU member states have backed the request, though one procedural step remains before formal approval. According to Khmara, partners pledged €70 billion in security assistance for Ukraine this year at a meeting in Ankara. Ukraine currently accounts for €62 billion, including bilateral support and the EU loan, leaving an €8 billion gap against that commitment. Khmara separately placed Ukraine’s overall defense funding shortfall at €23 billion, or $27 billion. He said the money is needed to finance drones and maintain stable supplies during the remainder of this year and the beginning of the next. Ukraine is requesting funding decisions by November so that resources can affect operations during winter. War Plan and Battlefield AssessmentKhmara and Armed Forces Commander-in-Chief Mykhailo Drapatyi attended the contact group meeting in their roles for the first time. The defense minister presented Ukraine’s war plan, which combines combat operations, personnel, defense-industrial production, cooperation with partners and a financial framework intended to provide predictable manufacturing volumes. Khmara said Russia has not achieved strategic success on the battlefield and that Ukraine’s drone-based engagement zone is limiting Russian advances. He claimed it accounts for more than 30,000 Russian military personnel each month. Ukraine estimates that Russia plans to mobilize about 300,000 additional soldiers by the end of 2026, beyond contract recruitment, and another 300,000 in 2027. Khmara said Ukraine intends to respond through technology, speed and expanded defense production rather than compete solely on manpower and resources. Proposed Partner CooperationUkraine is offering partners cooperation through joint defense projects, technology sharing, battlefield experience and new military capabilities. Khmara characterized continued assistance as an investment in shared security rather than a subsidy, while emphasizing that near-term transfers from partner inventories remain necessary until newly contracted weapons are delivered.
-
[Discussion] Ukraine Plans 1,000 Patriot Missiles, Seeks Stockpile Transfers Before Winter
Ukraine Plans Contracts for About 1,000 Patriot MissilesUkraine is preparing contracts for roughly 1,000 Patriot air-defense missiles with partner support and financing from an EU loan, Defense Minister Yevhen Khmara said at the 36th Ukraine Defense Contact Group meeting on Sept. 8, 2026. Khmara cautioned that the contracted missiles will take time to arrive. Ukraine is therefore asking partners to transfer interceptors from existing stockpiles before winter, with those stocks later replenished by upgraded missiles delivered under the Ukrainian contracts. The request follows continued Russian attacks on Ukrainian cities and critical infrastructure. An overnight missile and drone strike on Kyiv on Sept. 8 killed at least five people, injured 29 and caused large fires across the city. Additional Air-Defense RequirementsUkraine is also seeking air-to-air missiles and man-portable air-defense systems to counter cruise missiles and, as an interim measure, jet-powered Shahed attack drones. Khmara said dozens of Ukrainian companies are working on affordable systems that can be produced at scale to intercept jet-powered drones. Some interceptors are already undergoing combat testing, he added. Ukraine presented stronger air defenses, additional drone financing and faster partner decisions before winter as its immediate priorities at the Ramstein-format meeting. EU Loan and Defense FundingThe European Commission is expected to approve the final €28.3 billion ($33 billion) tranche of this year’s defense loans for Ukraine on Sept. 11. The financing package would authorize Ukraine to buy U.S.-made PAC-3 interceptors, which Patriot systems use against ballistic missiles. EU member states have backed the request, though one procedural step remains before formal approval. According to Khmara, partners pledged €70 billion in security assistance for Ukraine this year at a meeting in Ankara. Ukraine currently accounts for €62 billion, including bilateral support and the EU loan, leaving an €8 billion gap against that commitment. Khmara separately placed Ukraine’s overall defense funding shortfall at €23 billion, or $27 billion. He said the money is needed to finance drones and maintain stable supplies during the remainder of this year and the beginning of the next. Ukraine is requesting funding decisions by November so that resources can affect operations during winter. War Plan and Battlefield AssessmentKhmara and Armed Forces Commander-in-Chief Mykhailo Drapatyi attended the contact group meeting in their roles for the first time. The defense minister presented Ukraine’s war plan, which combines combat operations, personnel, defense-industrial production, cooperation with partners and a financial framework intended to provide predictable manufacturing volumes. Khmara said Russia has not achieved strategic success on the battlefield and that Ukraine’s drone-based engagement zone is limiting Russian advances. He claimed it accounts for more than 30,000 Russian military personnel each month. Ukraine estimates that Russia plans to mobilize about 300,000 additional soldiers by the end of 2026, beyond contract recruitment, and another 300,000 in 2027. Khmara said Ukraine intends to respond through technology, speed and expanded defense production rather than compete solely on manpower and resources. Proposed Partner CooperationUkraine is offering partners cooperation through joint defense projects, technology sharing, battlefield experience and new military capabilities. Khmara characterized continued assistance as an investment in shared security rather than a subsidy, while emphasizing that near-term transfers from partner inventories remain necessary until newly contracted weapons are delivered. View full article
-
Russian Missile and Drone Attack on Kyiv Kills 5, Injures 35
Five Killed in Overnight AttackRussia launched a large-scale missile and drone attack on Kyiv overnight on Sept. 8, killing five people and injuring 35. Explosions began around 3:30 a.m. local time and continued in several waves, igniting fires and sending smoke across the capital. Residential buildings, a school, warehouses, garages and vehicles were damaged. Emergency crews reported destruction and fires in the Holosiivskyi, Solomianskyi, Darnytskyi, Podilskyi and Dniprovskyi districts. Fourteen injured people were hospitalized, according to Mayor Vitali Klitschko, who said three were in serious condition. Rescuers evacuated two people from a damaged 16-story apartment building and freed 10 others trapped in a five-story building. Air raid alerts and explosions continued through the day as additional jet-powered drones targeted the city. Missiles and Drones Target KyivUkraine’s Air Force said Russia launched 32 cruise missiles, 166 Shahed-type drones and an unspecified number of ballistic missiles. More than half of the drones were described as jet-powered. Ukrainian forces intercepted two ballistic missiles, 31 cruise missiles and 142 drones, according to the Air Force. Missile or drone impacts were recorded at 29 locations. Monitoring channels reported that at least 12 ballistic missiles targeted Kyiv within about an hour. President Volodymyr Zelensky said the attack involved ballistic, cruise, and anti-ship missiles as well as jet-powered drones. He described the interception of nearly all cruise missiles as a positive result but said Ukraine needed additional interceptor missiles and a U.S. ballistic missile defense package. TV Channel and Homes DamagedA drone struck the building of the We-Ukraine television channel during a live broadcast, injuring at least five people. The broadcaster, part of Ukraine’s national telethon, said its newsroom and offices were hit. In the Solomianskyi district, residents reported shattered windows, damaged furniture and debris entering apartments. Dariia Kolisnyk said she reached her child and husband after windows and a door broke during the blast. Her husband suffered minor cuts from glass. Another resident, Liudmyla Akhremenko, said her home had been damaged for a second time and that no nearby shelter had yet been built. “These attacks destroy people’s lives and livelihoods,” resident Yevhen Panchenko said. “They have nowhere to live or work.” Kyiv Region Also HitRussian attacks also damaged residential areas and civilian infrastructure across Kyiv Oblast from the evening of Sept. 7 into the following morning. Three people were injured, including a 2-year-old girl who suffered a shrapnel wound to the eye and was hospitalized. In Bila Tserkva, two apartment buildings, a house, a warehouse and a production facility were damaged. Homes, warehouses, businesses and vehicles were also affected in the Brovary, Boryspil, Fastiv and Obukhiv districts. Air raid alarms sounded overnight in other parts of Ukraine, including Rivne Oblast, after the Air Force warned that Russia had likely launched cruise missiles from Tu-95 and Tu-160 strategic bombers. Brief Aerial Truce EndsThe attack ended a short pause in aerial strikes on the two countries’ capitals. Russia and Ukraine had agreed to halt such attacks for three days while U.S. special envoys Steve Witkoff and Jared Kushner visited Kyiv for peace talks. Moscow announced the pause on Sept. 6 but did not clearly specify its starting time. Kyiv was not attacked during the envoys’ visit, but Russian drones began targeting the capital again after their departure on Sept. 7. Before the pause, Kyiv had faced nine consecutive days of sustained Russian drone attacks.
-
[Discussion] Russian Missile and Drone Attack on Kyiv Kills 5, Injures 35
Five Killed in Overnight AttackRussia launched a large-scale missile and drone attack on Kyiv overnight on Sept. 8, killing five people and injuring 35. Explosions began around 3:30 a.m. local time and continued in several waves, igniting fires and sending smoke across the capital. Residential buildings, a school, warehouses, garages and vehicles were damaged. Emergency crews reported destruction and fires in the Holosiivskyi, Solomianskyi, Darnytskyi, Podilskyi and Dniprovskyi districts. Fourteen injured people were hospitalized, according to Mayor Vitali Klitschko, who said three were in serious condition. Rescuers evacuated two people from a damaged 16-story apartment building and freed 10 others trapped in a five-story building. Air raid alerts and explosions continued through the day as additional jet-powered drones targeted the city. Missiles and Drones Target KyivUkraine’s Air Force said Russia launched 32 cruise missiles, 166 Shahed-type drones and an unspecified number of ballistic missiles. More than half of the drones were described as jet-powered. Ukrainian forces intercepted two ballistic missiles, 31 cruise missiles and 142 drones, according to the Air Force. Missile or drone impacts were recorded at 29 locations. Monitoring channels reported that at least 12 ballistic missiles targeted Kyiv within about an hour. President Volodymyr Zelensky said the attack involved ballistic, cruise, and anti-ship missiles as well as jet-powered drones. He described the interception of nearly all cruise missiles as a positive result but said Ukraine needed additional interceptor missiles and a U.S. ballistic missile defense package. TV Channel and Homes DamagedA drone struck the building of the We-Ukraine television channel during a live broadcast, injuring at least five people. The broadcaster, part of Ukraine’s national telethon, said its newsroom and offices were hit. In the Solomianskyi district, residents reported shattered windows, damaged furniture and debris entering apartments. Dariia Kolisnyk said she reached her child and husband after windows and a door broke during the blast. Her husband suffered minor cuts from glass. Another resident, Liudmyla Akhremenko, said her home had been damaged for a second time and that no nearby shelter had yet been built. “These attacks destroy people’s lives and livelihoods,” resident Yevhen Panchenko said. “They have nowhere to live or work.” Kyiv Region Also HitRussian attacks also damaged residential areas and civilian infrastructure across Kyiv Oblast from the evening of Sept. 7 into the following morning. Three people were injured, including a 2-year-old girl who suffered a shrapnel wound to the eye and was hospitalized. In Bila Tserkva, two apartment buildings, a house, a warehouse and a production facility were damaged. Homes, warehouses, businesses and vehicles were also affected in the Brovary, Boryspil, Fastiv and Obukhiv districts. Air raid alarms sounded overnight in other parts of Ukraine, including Rivne Oblast, after the Air Force warned that Russia had likely launched cruise missiles from Tu-95 and Tu-160 strategic bombers. Brief Aerial Truce EndsThe attack ended a short pause in aerial strikes on the two countries’ capitals. Russia and Ukraine had agreed to halt such attacks for three days while U.S. special envoys Steve Witkoff and Jared Kushner visited Kyiv for peace talks. Moscow announced the pause on Sept. 6 but did not clearly specify its starting time. Kyiv was not attacked during the envoys’ visit, but Russian drones began targeting the capital again after their departure on Sept. 7. Before the pause, Kyiv had faced nine consecutive days of sustained Russian drone attacks. View full article
-
Japan, South Korea and US Begin Five-Day Carrier-Free Freedom Edge Drill
Five-Day Trilateral Exercise BeginsJapan, South Korea and the United States began Freedom Edge 2026 on Sept. 7, launching five days of air, maritime, cyber, logistics and Integrated Air and Missile Defense training. The exercise runs through Sept. 11 in international waters and airspace east and south of Jeju Island, with Japanese activities also conducted west of Kyushu in the East China Sea. Military bases and command posts in Japan and South Korea are participating. This is the fourth Freedom Edge exercise in 27 months. It is also the second consecutive iteration without a U.S. aircraft carrier, placing greater emphasis on destroyers, land-based tactical aircraft, aerial refueling and distributed command networks. Ships and AircraftThe naval component comprises six surface combatants, although five had been identified when the exercise began. South Korea deployed the Sejong the Great-class destroyers ROKS Yulgok Yi I and ROKS Seoae Ryu Seong-ryong. Japan contributed the destroyers JS Atago and JS Asahi, while the United States deployed the Arleigh Burke-class destroyer USS Benfold, which arrived in Busan on Sept. 3. Four of the five identified ships use the Aegis combat system, providing shipborne air and missile defense capability. Japan’s aircraft include P-1 maritime patrol aircraft, SH-60K helicopters, F-15 and F-2 fighters, E-767 and E-2D airborne early warning and control aircraft, and KC-46A and KC-767 tankers. U.S. F-16 fighters and KC-135 tankers are also participating. Aircraft quantities, the identity of the sixth ship, and the combined personnel total were not specified. Japan committed approximately 560 personnel from six organizations, including joint, maritime, air, support and cyber commands. That is 140 fewer than its reported contribution to the 2025 exercise. Training PrioritiesFreedom Edge 2026 covers integrated air and missile defense, maritime missile defense, enhanced air defense, maritime interdiction, cyber defense, logistics and medical training. A central element is real-time data sharing among Japanese, South Korean, and U.S. command systems. The carrier-free force distributes functions across ships, shore-based aircraft and tankers. Aegis destroyers provide air and missile defense nodes; maritime patrol aircraft and helicopters support surface and undersea surveillance; fighters conduct tactical aviation missions; and airborne early warning aircraft provide radar coverage and battle management. Tankers extend fighter endurance and operating range, while shared sensor tracks support identification, interception and missile-defense decisions across the three national networks. U.S. Forces Japan commander Lt. Gen. Stephen Jost said it was “not safe to say” the absence of a carrier had become the new normal. Shift From Carrier-Led OperationsThe first two Freedom Edge exercises lasted three days and included U.S. carriers. USS Theodore Roosevelt participated in June 2024, while USS George Washington joined the November 2024 iteration. The latter involved approximately 7,000 personnel, seven ships, and more than 20 fighters, patrol aircraft, and tankers. Freedom Edge 2025 expanded to five days but omitted a carrier, relying in part on land-based U.S. F-35A fighters and KC-135 tankers. The 2026 exercise retains that five-day structure and distributed aviation model. Across all four iterations, the series has accumulated 16 exercise days. North Korean Missile ContextThe exercise opened one day after North Korea commissioned the approximately 5,000-ton guided-missile destroyer Kang Kon at Wonsan. The ship partially capsized during its May 2025 launch, was recovered and relaunched the following month, and later underwent repairs, sea trials and weapons testing. Kang Kon is the sister ship of Choe Hyon, commissioned in June, and carries the same weapons suite. North Korea has tested cruise missiles from the new destroyer and associates the class with conventional and nuclear-capable missile missions. Freedom Edge’s missile-defense and sensor-sharing drills also address threats from North Korean land-based ballistic and cruise missiles, aircraft, and submarines.